1st workshop edition  
(IEEE ICC 2016)  

2nd workshop edition  
(IEEE Globecom 2016)

3rd workshop edition  
(IEEE ICC 2017)  

3rd International Workshop on 5G RAN Design
IEEE ICC, May 25 2017, Paris, France


Workshop Information

While 5G research has already started some years ago, and 3GPP standardization for NR in Rel. 15 is in full swing, there is still a long way to go before the successful roll-out of commercial 5G deployments. In particular, there is still the need to find consensus on key design aspects related to the final 5G system, expected to cover eMBB, URLLC and mMTC and carrier frequencies up to 100 GHz, as for instance how tightly novel air interfaces variants in the final 5G system will be integrated with each other and with legacy technology, to which extent functionality on different protocol stack layers can be harmonized for all bands, services and cell types, or how network slicing will be exactly realized in the RAN.

This workshop is co-organized by the 5G PPP projects METIS-II, FANTASTIC-5G, mmMAGIC, 5G-CROSSHAUL and Flex5Gware, all of which have the aim to take the 5G design one step further in level of detail, find consensus on key design aspects such as mentioned above, and hence enable an efficient further progress of 3GPP standardization activities. The workshop will build upon its successful predecessors, and provide the opportunity to share and discuss final results from the mentioned projects or other 5G research activities. The workshop scope includes:

  • Physical layer and hardware implementation concepts related to 5G
  • AC, RLC, PDCP and RRC concepts
  • Backhaul/fronthaul design
  • RAN Architecture concepts
  • Energy efficiency
  • Business models

Important Dates:
Paper submission deadline: Dec 16th, 2016
Paper acceptance/rejection: Feb 17th, 2017
Camera-ready deadline: Mar 10th, 2017

Workshop Organizers:
Dr. Patrick Marsch, Nokia
Dr. Olav Queseth, Ericsson
Dr. Frank Schaich, Nokia Bell Labs
Dr. Gerhard Wunder, Heinrich Hertz Institute
TkL. Miurel Tercero, Ericsson
Dr. Xavier Costa Perez, NEC Labs Europe
Dr. Fabio Cavaliere, Ericsson
Michael Färber, Intel Deutschland
Dr. Miquel Payaró, CTTC

Technical Program Committee:
Prof. Angeliki Alexiou, University of Piraeus
Dr. Gennaro Boggia, Politecnico di Bari
Mr. Mauro Boldi, Telecom Italia
Mr. Markus Breitbach, Deutsche Telekom
Dr. Daniel Camps, i2CAT
Dr. Marco Caretti, Telecom Italia
Dr. Aleksandra Checko, MTI Radiocomp
Dr. Antonio De Domenico, CEA-LETI Minatec
Dr. Miltiades Filippou, Intel Germany GmbH
Mr. Dimitri Kténas, CEA
Prof. Erwu Liu, Tongji University
Dr. Nurul Mahmood, Aalborg University
Dr. Jan Mietzner, Hensoldt
Mr. Junfei Qiu, PLA University of Science and Technology
Dr. Mehrdad Shariat, Samsung R&D Institute UK
Dr. Osvaldo Simeone, New Jersey Institute of Technology
Dr. Salvatore, Talarico Intel Corporation
Dr. Mojtaba Vaezi, Princeton University
Dr. Joerg Widmer, IMDEA Networks Institute
Dr. Dirk Wübben, University of Bremen
Dr. Wen Xu, Huawei
Dr. Gerd Zimmermann, Deutsche Telekom AG

Paper submission:
Paper submission is not possible anymore.

Workshop Registration:
Please register on the ICC 2017 website.