1st workshop edition  
(IEEE ICC 2016)

2nd workshop edition  
(IEEE Globecom 2016)  

3rd workshop edition  
(IEEE ICC 2017)

2nd International Workshop on 5G RAN Design
IEEE Globecom, Dec. 8 2016, Washington D.C., US


Workshop Information

This workshop is jointly organized by the 5th Generation Public Private Partnership (5G-PPP) projects METIS-II, FANTASTIC-5G, mmMAGIC, 5G-Crosshaul and Flex5GWare, and aims to foster the discussion and consensus building on key 5G RAN design aspects. The workshop will provide the opportunity to share and discuss results from the mentioned projects and other 5G research activities, and to elaborate on how the 5G RAN design shall be best taken forth in the recently started 3GPP standardization.

We are proud to welcome the following keynote speakers:

  • Prof. Angel Lozano, University Pompeu Fabra, Barcelona, Spain
    Angel Lozano is a Professor at Univ. Pompeu Fabra in Barcelona, Spain. Prof. Lozano received a Ph.D. from Stanford University in 1998. In 1999 he joined Bell Labs (Lucent Technologies, now Nokia) in Holmdel, USA, where he was a member of the Wireless Communications Research Department till 2008. Between 2005 and 2008 he was also Adj. Associate Professor at Columbia University. Prof. Lozano is a Fellow of the IEEE and a member of the steering committee for the IEEE Wireless Communication Letters. He has served as associate editor for the IEEE Transactions on Information Theory (2011-2014) and the IEEE Transactions on Communications (1999-2009), has guest-edited various special issues, and is actively involved in committees and conference organization tasks for the IEEE. In particular, he was Chair of the IEEE Communication Theory Technical Committee (2013-2014) and an elected member of the Board of Governors of the IEEE Communications Society (2012-2014). Prof. Lozano holds 15 patents and has contributed to several books. His papers have received several awards, including the Stephen O. Rice prize (2009), the Fred W. Ellersick prize (2016), and the Communications Society and Information Theory Society joint paper award (2016).
  • Dr. Preston F. Marshall, Google Inc., US
    Preston is Technical Program Manager responsible for spectrum access technology for Google Access, with a focus on the creation of a vibrant ecosystem of equipment, users, and standards in the newly shared 3.5 GHz band. He is chair of the Wireless innovation Forum Spectrum Sharing Subcommittee, co-chair of the Steering Group developing the standards base for 3.5 GHz spectrum sharing, and vice chair of the CBRS Alliance, developing coexistence and neutral host technology for the 3.5 GHz band. He has a new book on this subject, “Three Tier Shared Spectrum, Shared Infrastructure, and a Path to 5G”, to be released by Cambridge University Press shortly. Before joining Google, he was Deputy Director of the Information Sciences Institute (ISI) of University of Southern California, and a Research Professor at USC’s Electrical Engineering Department, and before that, he was Program Manager with the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA) for many of the DARPA Wireless, Cognitive Radio, and networking programs. He has been heavily involved in wireless technology and policy, including participation in the 2012 PCAST Spectrum Study, serving as the supporting witness during the US House hearings on the PCAST recommendations. Dr. Marshall is author of numerous articles, books and chapters on the subject of cognitive radio and spectrum issues. He is also the author of “Scalability, Density, Decision-Making in Cognitive Wireless Networks” by Cambridge University Press, and “Quantitative Analysis of Cognitive Radio and Network Performance” by ARTECH House.
  • Dr. Arunhabha Ghosh, AT&T, US
    Dr. Arun Ghosh is the Director of Advanced Wireless Technology Group with AT&T Labs where he leads the development and implementation of advanced wireless technology for 4G and 5G radio access networks. Currently he is involved in the development and standardization of new technology for 5G mobile networks where his main area of focus are mmWave communication systems, massive MIMO systems and network architecture for 5G network, spectrum sharing, software defined radio access networks etc. He is also responsible for various 5G trial and testbed activities carried out in the 5G technology lab in Austin. His main area of research relates signal processing and communication theory but he has also worked extensively and other topics such as cloud RAN, advanced system architecture, etc. He has published extensively in these area and is a key contributor to AT&T patent portfolio on this subject. Dr. Ghosh has also authored several bestselling books on LTE and WiMAX. He received his PhD from University Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and his masters and bachelors from Indian Institute of Technology.
  • Dr. Andreas Müller, Bosch, Germany
    Andreas Mueller is a Senior Expert and Project Manager within the Corporate Research Department of Robert Bosch GmbH in Stuttgart, Germany. In his current role, he is responsible for Bosch’s research activities in the area of future industrial connectivity infrastructures and solutions, with a special focus on wireless communications and emerging 5G technologies. This is done in close collaboration with various business units and external partners in order to ensure a high practical relevance. Prior to joining Bosch, Andreas was a Research Staff Member at the Institute of Telecommunications of the University of Stuttgart, Germany, where he was contributing to the further development of the 3GPP Long Term Evolution towards LTE-Advanced. Besides, he was working as a Systems Engineer for Rohde & Schwarz, developing a novel software-defined radio based communication system for the German Armed Forces. Andreas holds a German Diploma degree as well as a Ph.D. degree in Electrical Engineering (with distinction) and a M.Sc. degree in Information Technology, all from the University of Stuttgart, Germany.
Please find the workshop program here.

Important Dates:
Paper submission deadline: July 15th, 2016
Paper acceptance/rejection: September 1st, 2016
Camera-ready deadline: October 1st, 2016

Workshop Organizers:
Dr. Patrick Marsch, Nokia Bell Labs
Dr. Olav Queseth, Ericsson
Dr. Frank Schaich, Nokia Bell Labs
Dr. Gerhard Wunder, Heinrich Hertz Institute
TkL. Miurel Tercero, Ericsson
Mr. Krystian Safjan, Nokia Bell Labs
Dr. Xavier Costa Perez, NEC Labs Europe
Dr. Fabio Cavaliere, Ericsson
Michael Färber, Intel Deutschland
Dr. Miquel Payaró, CTTC

Technical Program Committee:
Angeliki Alexiou, University of Piraeus
Albert Banchs, Universidad Carlos III de Madrid
Gennaro Boggia, Politecnico di Bari
Mauro Boldi, Telecom Italia
Markus Breitbach, Deutsche Telekom
Daniel Camps, i2CAT
Marco Caretti, Telecom Italia
Aleksandra Checko, MTI Radiocomp
Antonio De Domenico, CEA-LETI Minatec
Christian Ibars, Intel Corporation
Awais Khawar, Federated Wireless
Dimitri Kténas, CEA
Erwu Liu, Tongji University
Nurul Mahmood, Aalborg University
Marco Mezzavilla, NYU Poly
Honglei Miao, Intel Mobile Communication GmbH
Jan Mietzner, Airbus Defence & Space
Marina Petrova, RWTH Aachen University
Sofie Pollin, KU Leuven
Junfei Qiu, PLA University of Science and Technology
Bessem Sayadi, Nokia Bell-Labs
Mehrdad Shariat, Samsung R&D Institute UK
Osvaldo Simeone, New Jersey Institute of Technology
Salvatore Talarico, Huawei Technologies Inc
Kostas Tsagkaris, WINGS ICT Solutions
Mojtaba Vaezi, Princeton University
Joerg Widmer, IMDEA Networks Institute
Dirk Wübben, University of Bremen
Lei Zhang, University of Surrey
Gerd Zimmermann, Deutsche Telekom AG

Paper submission:
Paper submission is not possible anymore.

Workshop Registration:
Please register on the Globecom 2016 website.